Differential sensitivity of three forms of hippocampal synaptic potentiation to depotentiation

Pojeong Park, Thomas M. Sanderson, Zuner A. Bortolotto, John Georgiou, Min Zhuo, Bong Kiun Kaang, Graham L. Collingridge*

*Corresponding author for this work

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle (Academic Journal)peer-review

6 Citations (Scopus)
178 Downloads (Pure)


Theta-burst stimulation (TBS) induces short-term potentiation (STP) plus two types of transcriptionally-independent forms of long-term potentiation (LTP), termed LTP1 and LTP2. We have compared the susceptibility of these three types of synaptic plasticity to depotentiation, induced by low frequency stimulation (LFS; 2 Hz for 10 min) at the Schaffer collateral-commissural pathway in area CA1 of adult rat hippocampal slices. In interleaved experiments, STP and LTP were induced by three episodes of either compressed or spaced TBS (cTBS or sTBS). LFS had a more pronounced effect on the LTP induced by the cTBS. One traditional interpretation of these results is a difference in the time-dependent immunity against depotentiation. We suggest an alternative explanation: LFS rapidly reverses STP to reveal a slowly developing LTP. The cTBS protocol induces LTP1 that is moderately sensitive to depotentiation. The sTBS induces an additional component of LTP (LTP2) that is resistant to depotentiation.

Original languageEnglish
Article number30
Number of pages5
JournalMolecular Brain
Issue number1
Publication statusPublished - 3 Apr 2019


  • Depotentiation
  • Hippocampus
  • Long-term potentiation


Dive into the research topics of 'Differential sensitivity of three forms of hippocampal synaptic potentiation to depotentiation'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this